Thursday, 23 September 2021

By Tin Soe

Maungdaw, Arakan State:
Two Arakanese Rohingya political parties registered with their candidates lists to Maungdaw election commissioner on the last day of submission date, according to an Arakanese Rohingya politician from Maungdaw.

The two Arakanese Rohingya political parties are: National Democratic Party for Development (NDPD) and National Development and Peace Party (NDPP), he said.

NDPD had submitted their candidate list at Maungdaw Election commissioner for forthcoming election; Nurul Haque, an Agriculture graduate, for upper house to contest in forthcoming election while other Soe Win and Tayub Uddin had submitted for lower house , said a party member.

On other side, the NDPP only submitted two candidates, Fayas and Omar for forthcoming election with Maungdaw election commissioner, said a local politician from Maungdaw.

The NDPP announced that the party will only contest for Maungdaw South only, but, didn’t give any detail of other part of Maungdaw and Buthidaung, the local politician said.

In Maungdaw Township, there is only one political party, United Solidarity and Development Party (USDP), established office for election campaign. Other any parties didn’t establish their offices for election in Maungdaw.

NDPD had registered to establish the political party with election commissioner and received permission on June 2, 2010 with registration number 32, while NDPP received permission on August 24 with registration number 42.

The two parties are not starting their campaign for forthcoming election yet.