Thursday, 28 May 2020

Rangoon, Burma: At the invitation of Chairman of the 39th ASEAN Standing Committee and Foreign Minister of Malaysia, Burmese Foreign Minister left Rangoon by air yesterday afternoon for Malaysia to attend the meetings, reports in New light of Myanmar.

Burmese Foreign Minister U Nyan Win has to attend 39th ASEAN Ministerial Meeting (AMM), 13th ASEAN Regional Forum (ARF), ASEAN+3 Foreign Ministers' Meeting and Post Ministerial Conferences (PMCs).
The meeting was started yesterday (24 July) and will be ended on 28 July in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.
Ambassador of Burma to Malaysia U Myint Aung, Ambassador of Burma  to the Philippines U Thaung Tun, Director-General of the Political Department U Nyan Lynn, Director-General of the ASEAN Affairs Department U Aung Bwa, General Staff Officer Grade I (Planning) of the Ministry of Defence Lt-Col Ohn Cho, Minister Counsellor of Burma Embassy in KL U Win Myint, Deputy Director of the ASEAN Affairs Department U Aung Htoo, Head of Branch U Zaw Naing Win of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs  participated in the meetings.
Bangladesh Foreign minister M. Morshed Khan also leaves Dhaka for Kuala Lumpur tomorrow to attend the 13th ARF ministerial meeting to be held on July 28, according to Dhaka correspondent.
US Secretary of State Condolleezza Rice will also attend the ARF meeting.
Established in 1994, ARF has been dealing with security issues as confidence building measures, peacekeeping, disaster relief, counter-terrorism, transnational crimes, maritime security and preventive diplomacy.
The forum comprises Asean member countries Brunei, Burma, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.
Ten dialogue partners of the forum are Australia, Canada, China, EU, India, Japan, New Zealand, South Korea, Russia, and the United States.
Papua New Guinea, North Korea, Mongolia and Pakistan are observers to the forum. East Timor was admitted to the ARF in 2005.